Archive for April, 2012

Episode 11: This Episode Goes To…

Monday, April 23rd, 2012

Warning: curl_getinfo(): 275 is not a valid cURL handle resource in /home/squee/public_html/wp-content/themes/liasblueworld/functions.php on line 26

Welcome to the April Episode of the SF Squeecast! Episode 11, This Episode Goes To… This episode brought together Squeecast regulars Lynne M. Thomas, Elizabeth Bear, Seanan McGuire, and Catherynne M. Valente.

In this episode we talked about:

  • It by Stephen King (shared by Seanan McGuire)
  • Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed (shared by Lynne M. Thomas)
  • Redemption in Indigo by Karen Lord (shared by Elizabeth Bear)
  • Was by Geoff Ryman (shared by Catherynne M. Valente)
  • With a bonus digression of Seanan’s reaction to The Hum and the Shiver in there somewhere.
  • We skipped the silly questions this time, in favor of an “invisible cup of tea” segment, where we discussed the whole notion of negative reviews of other people’s work when you’re a professional writer yourself.

    Click here to listen, press play below, or right-click to download the episode (mp3)

    Additional credits: Special thanks to our webmaster, Dmitri Zagidulin, our technical producer David McHone-Chase, Jeff Bohnhoff at Mystic Fig Studios for the instrumentals of music by Seanan McGuire, Katy Shuttleworth, who made our ROCKING logo, and Michael D. Thomas for general administrative support.

SF Squeecast Nominated for Hugo Award!

Sunday, April 8th, 2012

Warning: curl_getinfo(): 276 is not a valid cURL handle resource in /home/squee/public_html/wp-content/themes/liasblueworld/functions.php on line 26

Holy Cats!

We are deeply pleased to announce that we are nominated for a Hugo Award for Best Fancast!

We’re in great company:

Best Fancast (326 ballots)
The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe
Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alex Pierce, and Tansy Rayner Roberts (presenters) and Andrew Finch (producer)
SF Signal Podcast, John DeNardo and JP Frantz, produced by Patrick Hester
SF Squeecast, Lynne M. Thomas, Seanan McGuire, Paul Cornell, Elizabeth Bear, and Catherynne M. Valente
StarShipSofa, Tony C. Smith

The full slate of nominees is here.

Congrats to our contributors and regulars from 2011, nearly all of whom are also nominated in other categories. :-)


Thank you. We are so very, very proud.